Sally Kress Tompkins Fellowship

Deadline: Dec 31, 2014

The Sally Kress Tompkins Fellowship, a joint program of the Society of
Architectural Historians (SAH) and the National Park Service’s Historic
American Buildings Survey (HABS), permits an architectural historian to
work on a 12-week HABS project during the summer. The Fellow will
prepare a written history to become part of the permanent HABS
collection focusing on either a specific nationally-significant
building/site, or a broader architectural history topic that will inform
future HABS documentation. The Fellow will be selected by a jury of two
SAH members and one HABS representative. The Fellow will be stationed in
the field working in conjunction with a HABS measured drawings team, or
in the HABS Washington, D.C. office.

The Award
The Sally Kress Tompkins/HABS award includes a $10,000 stipend and will
be presented during the Society’s Annual Conference in April. The award
will be announced in the Journal of the Society of Architectural
Historians and the SAH Newsletter after the presentation.

Reporting Requirements
In addition to the final project/written history, recipients are
required to upload a minimum of 50 images to the SAHARA image database.

Criteria for Application
Applicants should be pursuing graduate studies in architectural history
or other related fields. You do not have to be a member of SAH to apply
for this fellowship, but membership is strongly encouraged.

Application Details
Applications for the 2015 Sally Kress Tompkins/HABS award will open on
August 1, 2014. Applications must be postmarked by December 31, 2014.

To apply, visit: or contact
Lisa Davidson at 202-354-2179.