Curiositas: Peeping Before Virtual Reality



Full title: Curiositas: Peeping Before Virtual Reality. A Media Archaeology of Immersion Through VR and the Iberian Cosmoramas


Reference: PTDC/COM-OUT/4851/2021
Starting date: January 2022
Ending date: January 2025


CURIOSITAS is a research project on Cosmorama exhibitions in Portugal and Spain during the 19th century. Funded by the Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia, CURIOSITAS (2022-2025) combines documentary and iconographic research with virtual reality, aiming to rescue the forgotten history of these first immersive media, reassess their cultural impact on other arts and peep media, and contribute to the current challenges on virtual heritage.
CURIOSITAS project is at a crossroads of disciplines, and will be developed by a team of national and international researchers with expertise in communication sciences, history of early media, history of art, virtual reality and museology. Its host units are the CICANT at Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologia and the Art History Institute (IHA/NOVA FCSH) at Universidade NOVA de Lisboa. Its institutional partners include the Portuguese Cinemateque – Cinema Museum and the Cinema Museum – Tomàs Mallol Collection in Girona.


Main scientific domain: Media and Communication
Scientific sub-domain: Arts


Keywords: Media Archaeology; Exhibitions and Virtual Heritage; Digital Humanities; Immersive Systems


Funding: 233.997,62€ [FCT]


Main Institutions and R&D Units:
Lusófona University (CICANT – Centre for Research in Applied Communication, Culture and New Technologies)
Universidade NOVA de Lisboa (IHA-NOVA FCSH / IN2PAST – Art History Institute, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa –  School of Social Sciences and Humanities / IN2PAST – Associate Laboratory for Research and Innovation in Heritage, Arts, Sustainability and Territory)
Cinemateca Portuguesa – Museu do Cinema,
Museu del Cinema – Collecció Tomàs Mallol of Girona


IR: Victor Flores (CICANT, Lusófona University)
Co-IR: Susana S. Martins (IHA-NOVA FCSH / IN2PAST)
John Plunkett (University of Exeter)
Filipe Luz (Lusófona University)
Célia Quico (Lusófona University)
Carmen López-San Segundo (Salamanca University)
Javier Frutos-Esteban (Salamanca University)
Teresa Mendes Flores (Universidade NOVA de Lisboa)
Nuno Borges de Araújo (Universidade do Minho)
Celia Cuenca
Ana David Mendes